Adrian Mole on the Underground

Adrian Mole The Collected Poems, by Sue Townsend

To celebrate Adrian Mole’s birthday and World Poetry Day, The Book Fairies headed out onto the Underground with some tiny copies of Adrian Mole The Collected Poems, by Sue Townsend.

About Adrian Mole The Collected Poems

Featuring poems scattered over nearly thirty years of writing and salvaged from the diaries ‘authored’ by one Sue Townsend, this slim volume features more than thirty pieces of Adrian’s unique art. From his timeless first documented poem – The Tap – via classic odes to his muse, first and only true love Pandora (I adore ya), we follow Adrian’s life in verse form.

We not only witness his burgeoning political anger in works like Mrs Thatcher (Do you weep, Mrs Thatcher, do you weep?) but also see in later poems his merciless examination of the hollow shell of masculinity as well as documenting his declining libido in tragic pieces like To My Organ.

For the first time in a single volume, these are the collected poems of misunderstood intellectual and tortured poet Adrian Mole.

Who found a copy of The Collected Poems?

About Adrian Mole and Sue Townsend

Adrian Albert Mole is the fictional protagonist in a series of books by English author Sue Townsend. The character first appeared (as Nigel) in a BBC Radio 4 play in 1982.

Sue Townsend is one of Britain’s favourite comic authors. Her hugely successful novels include eight Adrian Mole books, The Public Confessions of a Middle-Aged Woman (Aged 55¾), Number Ten, Ghost Children, The Queen and I, Queen Camilla and The Woman Who Went to Bed for a Year, all of which are highly-acclaimed bestsellers. Sue passed away in 2014 and is survived by her husband, four children, ten grandchildren and millions of avid readers.

If you missed out on finding a copy of Adrian Mole on the Underground this week then head to to purchase one.


0 comments on “Adrian Mole The Collected Poems, by Sue TownsendAdd yours →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *